THE History of the Villa Trier
The Museum of St. Anton is located on the upper floor of “Villa Trier”, which was built around 1910 as a seasonal getaway for German industrialist and entrepreneur Bernhard Trier. Erected to the design of Austrian art nouveau architect Hanns Kornberger, the exquisite mansion changed hands a number of times in the 20th century. The Commune of St. Anton and the Tourist Board acquired the architectural jewel in 1971 to preserve it for future generations. Situated among charming Alpine parklands, the Museum collects, preserves and shares the rich heritage of St. Anton.
The Path over the Arlberg
The settling of the Arlberg Area is interwoven with the history of traffic and transportation. Linking East and West, the path over Arlberg Pass has been an important route for the transport of trading commodities since the Middle Ages, especially for trading salt. The crossing of Arlberg Pass was arduous and often terrifying, travellers not infrequently encountering great danger. Thus in 1386, Heinrich Findelkind resolved to erect a protective accommodation at the top of the pass to provide shelter and refreshment for wayfarers.
The Changing Face of ST. ANTON
A history of traffic: The permanent collection takes a close look at the way St. Anton changed in the course of time through road development work over Arlberg Pass, which began at the end of the 18th century.
THE Arlberg Railway
Construction of the Arlberg Railway began in 1880. The Railway Line was officially opened in September 1884 by Franz Joseph, Emperor of Austria. This imposing building project, particularly the Arlberg Tunnel, is considered one of history’s great engineering feats. The construction of the Arlberg Railway played a major part in the development of St. Anton and paved the way for mass winter tourism, which was to change the life of local people forever.
AGRICULTURE AND TOURISM
At the beginning of the 20th century, the village of St. Anton heavily depended on agriculture. Thanks to the railway, alpinists flocked to St. Anton to explore the glorious mountain scenery. The first skiers were spotted on the slopes by the end of the 19th century, viewed with amazement (and sometimes amusement) by the local people. Soon, tourism grew in economic importance and spurred social changes in St. Anton.
Skiing Arlberg Mountain
Skiing put St. Anton on the map. Our ski heritage is rich, diverse and filled with stories of dynamic characters who have had a profound effect on the sport and this village. The Museum’s permanent exhibition presents a timeline of the development of skiing and includes local aspects of ski history, from the formation of the Arlberg Ski Club and Arlberg’s ski pioneers Hannes Schneider and Rudolf Gomperz to the careers of Arlberg Area natives.